The Copper Project

My dad gave me a large copper tube, part of an old chimney I think. It had the others at our MELD meeting last week in very excited!  Julie suggested we wrap some silk around it, wet it, wrap it in plastic and wait…

Copper project 1

Five days later no real colour. On Julie’s suggestion I’ve now sprayed it with vinegar. I’ll keep you posted.

I had a fun and messy afternoon with my daughter and her friend tie dyeing t shirts. You can see the results on my blog. On the same afternoon  I made this piece below on silk / cotton voile. I concertina folded the fabric very roughly and tied off sections with elastic bands. I then applied the dye with a paint brush. I was pleased to see the dye penetrated throughout the section and also not bleed too much into other areas.

Red stripes

This entry was posted in Copper, Fibre reactive dyeing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Copper Project

  1. lizarnold28 says:

    I wonder if the copper has got a protective layer on it – varnish or lacquer perhaps. Maybe if you rub the surface with a scourer in one patch to test the theory?…

Leave a Reply

