Long weekend handbag session

This past Australia Day long weekend I trialled a product called By Annie’s Soft And Stable, an interfacing for handbags which I’d bought last year at a Craft Show.  It was said to be superior to other interfacings in that it made the bag stand up better.  I certainly found it to be so.  My bag had form like no other I’ve ever made.  It was easy to stitch up.  Despite not having any glue and therefore having to be simply laid on the reverse side of the outer bag fabric, it doesn’t shift under the machine needle, perhaps because it’s got a knitted surface over its foam core.  I’ll be using it again!

Anyway, here’s an image.

Black bag with pocket and magnetic closures

Black bag with pocket and magnetic closures

While I was on handbags I made three small i-phone bags.  they hold my phone, a door key and my car remote together with $50 so I can go anywhere without a handbag proper if I want to do so.  I made two of these bags from a wide silk scarf I dyed at Fibreswest in 2008 with Landscape dyes in a workshop with Jacinta Leishman.  By assembling them differently I got two quite different bags from the one scarf.  Each is, however, reversible; if you turn one  inside out you get it to look the same as the other.

Top: Bags made from wide Landscape dyed silk scarfBottom: Bag from natural dyed silk scarf

Top: Bags made from wide Landscape dyed silk scarf
Bottom: Bag from natural dyed silk scarf

This entry was posted in Bag making, Copper, Fabric manipulation, Fibre reactive dyeing, Natural dyeing, Stitching. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Long weekend handbag session

  1. Louise says:

    Margaret, you had a busy weekend. The Soft and Stable interfacing sounds very useful.

Leave a comment